Brief Summary

Read full entry

The primate infraorder Lorisiformes is composed of two families: Lorisidae (lorises, pottos, and angwantibos) and Galagidae (galagos i.e. bushbabies). The taxonomic division between the Lorisiformes and Lemuriformes (lemurs) has been questioned in the past, though more recent morphological and molecular studies uphold the separate monophyly of these two groups (Perelman et al., 2011; Roos et al., 2004; Stanger-Hall, 1997). Lorisids are nocturnal primates found throughout Africa and Asia. Lorisiformes are one infraorder contained within the suborder Strepsirrhini. 


Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 (CC BY 3.0)

© Abigail Nishimura

Supplier: Abigail Nishimura

Belongs to 0 communities

This taxon hasn't been featured in any communities yet.

Learn more about Communities


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!