Cebidae — Overview

Marmosets, Tamarins, Capuchins, and Squirrel Monkeys learn more about names for this taxon

Comprehensive Description

Read full entry

There are 56 species of cebids in 5 genera and 3 subfamilies. The most diverse group of cebids are the marmosets and tamarins (Callitrichinae), with 43 species. Callitrichinae includes Goeld's marmosets (Callimico), 21 species of marmosets (Callithrix), 4 species of lion tamarins (Leontopithecus), and 17 species of tamarins (Saguinus). There are 8 species of capuchins (Cebus) in the subfamily Cebinae and 5 species of squirrel monkeys (Saimiri) in the subfamily Saimiriinae.


Creative Commons Attribution Non Commercial Share Alike 3.0 (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0)

© The Regents of the University of Michigan and its licensors

Source: Animal Diversity Web

Belongs to 0 communities

This taxon hasn't been featured in any communities yet.

Learn more about Communities


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!