Brief Summary

Read full entry


The superfamily Noctilionoidea includes four families: Mystacinidae, Noctilionidae, Mormoopidae, and Phyllostomidae. Mystacinidae and Noctilionidae each include one genus and two species, while Mormoopidae contains two genera and eight species (Koopman, 1993). In contrast, Phyllostomidae includes 48 genera and 138 species (Koopman, 1993), making it the third largest family within Chiroptera.

Food preference varies among taxa in Noctilionoidea, with species variably specialized to feed principally on insects, other animals (e.g., rodents, birds, and other bats), nectar, pollen, fruit, or blood. Many of these bats have unusally facial ornimentation, including nose-leafs, leaf-chin flaps, swollen lips and other projections in the labio-nasal region.


Belongs to 0 communities

This taxon hasn't been featured in any communities yet.

Learn more about Communities


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!