Brief Summary

Read full entry

The Camelidae (camels and relatives) are sufficiently distinct from other families in the mammal order Artiodactyla that they are placed in their own suborder, Tylopoda ("padded foot"). This suborder includes only the family Camelidae, which is divided into two tribes, the Camelini and Lamini. The Camelini includes just two living representatives, the Bactrian Camel (Camelus bactrianus) and the Dromedary (Camelus dromedarius). The Lamini includes four species: Guanaco (Lama guanicoe), Llama (Lama glama), Viçuna (Vicugna vicugna), and Alpaca (Vicugna pacos).


Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 (CC BY 3.0)

© Leo Shapiro

Supplier: Leo Shapiro

Belongs to 0 communities

This taxon hasn't been featured in any communities yet.

Learn more about Communities


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!