Brief Summary

Read full entry


The mammal order Artiodactyla (even-toed ungulates) includes ten families:

1) Camelidae (camels and relatives)

2) Suidae (pigs)

3) Tayassuidae (peccaries)

4) Hippopotamidae (hippopotamuses)

5) Tragulidae (chevrotains or mouse deer)

6) Moschidae (Musk-deer)

7) Cervidae (deer)

8) Bovidae (hollow-horned ruminants)

9) Antilocapridae (Pronghorn)

10) Giraffidae (Giraffe and Okapi)

Molecular phylogenetic studies and other evidence (some going back to the 1880s) indicate a close relationship between Artiodactyla and Cetacea (whales). The group Cetartiodactyla is a clade composed of Cetacea + Artiodactyla.

(Lewison 2011 and references therein)


Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 (CC BY 3.0)

© Leo Shapiro

Supplier: Leo Shapiro

Belongs to 0 communities

This taxon hasn't been featured in any communities yet.

Learn more about Communities


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!