IUCN threat status:

Least Concern (LC)


Read full entry

Range Description

Asparagus aethiopicus is native to South Africa (occuring from Namaqualand to the Cape Peninsula and eastwards to the Eastern Cape, KwaZulu-Natal and into the southern Free State). It is introduced in Ethiopia, Eritrea, Madagascar, Mauritius, Australia (Norfolk Island, Lord Howe Island, Queensland and New South Wales), New Zealand, the Nauru Atoll, The Marianas and Marshall Islands, the USA (Florida, Hawaii), Puerto Rico, Argentina and Uruguay (Govaerts 2004).


Creative Commons Attribution Non Commercial Share Alike 3.0 (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0)

© International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources

Source: IUCN

Belongs to 1 community


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!